Home » Horse Blog » Wild Mustang News » Support The American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act of 2011

Support The American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act of 2011

Please take the time to support The American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act of 2011 (H.R. 2966)

This bill was officially introduced to Congress on September 19, 2011 by Congressmen Dan Burton, Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky, and 57 original co-sponsors. This bill is similiar to a bill proposed in 2003 (H.R. 857 The American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act) by Congressmen John E. Sweeney and John Spratt, Jr. cH.R. 2966 is a bipartisan measure that will end the export and inhumane killing of American horses for human consumption across our borders.

Approximately 100,000 American horses are sent across U.S. borders to slaughter each year. This represents 1 percent of the total population of American horses, as the vast majority of horse owners choose humane euthanasia—not long-distance transport and slaughter—as an end-of-life option for their beloved companions.

Let’s tell our government officials where you stand on horse slaughter by writing to them that you support passing this legislation!

“I personally believe in the importance of treating all horses as humanely and respectfully as possible. That being said, I look forward to working with Rep. Schakowsky to end the cruelty, after decades of effort to stop these practices.” – Congressman Dan Burton, (R-IN)

Here is the full list of co-sponsors (currently at 70) for H.R. 2966:

Rep. Dan Burton, R-Ind.

Rep. Jan Schakowsky, D-Ill

Rep. Gary Ackerman [D, NY-5

Rep. Roscoe Bartlett [R, MD-6]

Rep. Shelley Berkley [D, NV-1]

Rep. Judy Biggert [R, IL-13]

Rep. Brian Bilbray [R, CA-50]

Del. Madeleine Bordallo [D, GU-0]

Rep. John Campbell [R, CA-48]

Rep. Lois Capps [D, CA-23]

Rep. Hansen Clarke [D, MI-13]

Rep. Emanuel Cleaver [D, MO-5]

Rep. Gerald Connolly [D, VA-11]

Rep. John Conyers [D, MI-14]

Rep. Susan Davis [D, CA-53]

Rep. Ted Deutch [D, FL-19]

Rep. Bob Filner [D, CA-51]

Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R, PA-8]

Rep. Barney Frank [D, MA-4]

Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen [R, NJ-11]

Rep. Elton Gallegly [R, CA-24]

Rep. Jim Gerlach [R, PA-6]

Rep. Raul Grijalva [D, AZ-7]

Rep. Michael Grimm [R, NY-13]

Rep. Maurice Hinchey [D, NY-22]

Rep. Jay Inslee [D, WA-1]

Rep. Steve Israel [D, NY-2]

Rep. Henry Johnson [D, GA-4]

Rep. Walter Jones [R, NC-3]

Rep. William Keating [D, MA-10]

Rep. Peter King [R, NY-3]

Rep. Dennis Kucinich [D, OH-10]

Rep. Leonard Lance [R, NJ-7]

Rep. James Langevin [D, RI-2]

Rep. Barbara Lee [D, CA-9]

Rep. Sander Levin [D, MI-12]

Rep. Frank LoBiondo [R, NJ-2]

Rep. Edward Markey [D, MA-7]

Rep. Carolyn McCarthy [D, NY-4]

Rep. James McGovern [D, MA-3]

Rep. George Miller [D, CA-7]

Rep. Gwen Moore [D, WI-4]

Rep. James Moran [D, VA-8]

Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D, NY-8]

Rep. Grace Napolitano [D, CA-38]

Del. Eleanor Norton [D, DC-0]

Rep. John Olver [D, MA-1]

Rep. William Pascrell [D, NJ-8]

Rep. Gary Peters [D, MI-9]

Res.Comm. Pedro Pierluisi [D, PR-0]

Rep. Todd Platts [R, PA-19]

Rep. Jared Polis [D, CO-2]

Rep. Nick Rahall [D, WV-3]

Rep. Charles Rangel [D, NY-15]

Rep. Dave Reichert [R, WA-8]

Rep. Laura Richardson [D, CA-37]

Rep. Michael Rogers [R, MI-8]

Rep. Steven Rothman [D, NJ-9]

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D, CA-34]

Rep. Loretta Sanchez of CA

Rep. John Sarbanes [D, MD-3]

Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D, IL-9]

Rep. José Serrano [D, NY-16]

Rep. Brad Sherman [D, CA-27]

Rep. Christopher Smith [R, NJ-4]

Rep. Jackie Speier [D, CA-12]

Rep. Fortney Stark [D, CA-13]

Rep. Niki Tsongas [D, MA-5]

Rep. Christopher Van Hollen [D, MD-8]

Rep. Melvin Watt [D, NC-12]

Rep. Edward Whitfield [R, KY-1]

Rep. Lynn Woolsey [D, CA-6]

Rep. Bill Young [R, FL-10]

click here to see the most current updates with this bill

Wild Horse Advocates – Washington D.C. – February 2011 from New Frontier Video on Vimeo.